is nutella vegan
|

Is Nutella vegan?

Is this popular chocolate hazelnut spread vegan? Who can resist the perfect combination of chocolate and hazelnuts? The answer is nobody. Find out if Nutella is vegan and discover great Nutella alternatives.

It is commonly used to make toast, pancakes, and other breakfast treats, and included in innovative recipes such as Nutella banana bread or Nutella spring rolls.

This article tells you if Nutella is vegetarian and provides a list of alternatives, as well as a recipe for making your own.

According to its website, Nutella contains eight ingredients: sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, skimmed milk powder, cocoa, lecithin, and vanillin (a synthetic vanilla flavor.).

Nutella vegan?

Nutella contains skimmed milk powder, which is cow’s milk that undergoes rapid heating and drying to remove liquids and create a powder. This ingredient makes Nutella non-vegan.

Regular nut butter

For a quick and healthy exchange, choose natural nut butter without added ingredients like sugar and oils. Raw nut butter contains much less sugar than Nutella and provides a generous dose of protein and healthy fats.

Almond and peanut butter are great vegan options that offer roughly 7 grams of filling protein per 2 tablespoons.

Hazelnut oil is also a great option. However, with 5 grams of protein per 2 tablespoons, it provides slightly less of this important macronutrient.

Nutella Alternatives for Vegans

If you are looking for a vegan version of Nutella, many companies have created their own varieties. Let me share with you a small list of Nutella alternatives for vegan:
Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut & Almond Butter Blend.
Artisana Organics Hazelnut Cacao Spread.
Rigoni di Asiago Nocciolata Dairy Free Organic Hazelnut Spread.
Nutiva Vegan Hazelnut Spread

How to make vegan chocolate namaz

Making your own spread is another great way to make sure your chocolate hazelnut spread is vegan.

In Nutella, lecithin and skimmed milk powder are added as emulsifiers to improve texture and increase shelf life. You can skip these ingredients when making your own spread.

Sugar, hazelnuts, and cocoa powder are vegan, so you can use them in your homemade version. Meanwhile, vanilla extract can replace vanillin.

To make the Vegan Chocolate Prayer, you will need:

  • 4 cups (540 grams) roasted, skinless hazelnuts
  • ¾ cup (75 grams) cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons (30 ml) coconut oil
  • ½ cup (160 g) maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons (10 ml) pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Similar Posts